SPMS Patriot's Pen Winners Honored

SPMS Patriot's Pen Winners Honored
Posted on 02/07/2024
This is the image for the news article titled SPMS Patriot's Pen Winners Honored

On February 6, VFW Patriot’s Pen winners were announced at a formal ceremony held at the South Park Community Center. This year’s competition had a total of 225 participants in grades 6 and 8. The top 15 recipients were given a certificate of merit for their outstanding essays and participation. The top 15 awardees from South Park Middle School were:

In 6th Grade:

  • Levi Costantino
  • MaKenna Owen
  • Gabbi Smith
  • Alexa Ehasz
  • Kylar Stone
  • Fiona Brown
  • Briella Faith
  • Presha Koirala

In 8th Grade:


  • Emma Kienic
  • Lillian Smith
  • Braden Ferguson
  • Preston Bucci
  • Anmol Dhakal
  • Luke Xeiler
  • Taylor Schneider

The top 3 prize winners were also awarded with a VFW pin and a monetary prize. The top 3 prize winners were:


  1. First Place: Lillian Smith $100 winner
  2. Second Place: Braden Ferguson $50 winner
  3. Third Place: Luke Zeiler $25 winner


The first place recipient, Lillian Smith, was invited to read her award winning and very thought provoking essay to the audience composed of family and friends. 


All of the recipients did an amazing job in a very challenging competition. Mrs. Baldigowski and Mr. Yocco could not be more proud of their efforts and hard work. A special thank you goes to the South Park VFW Post 6667 for sponsoring this contest and inviting our students to participate each year, to the South Park Women’s Auxiliary, and a special thank you to Ms. Ashley Abbey for her efforts in coordinating the contest and the ceremony. We look forward to participating again next fall  in the Patriot’s Pen Essay. 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.